Psycho Games Chapter 1: The Victorious One (part 1) – 10 pages

 photo ep1 cover_zpsktvvfebz.png

 photo ep1 p1_zpsuzvr1jwz.png

 photo ep1 p2_zpsxjs2xdhq.png

 photo ep1 p3_zpsuzouq8d4.png

 photo ep1 p4_zpseflcm4o3.png

 photo ep1 p5_zpspm0ozgby.png

 photo ep1 p6_zpsrpycnivq.png

 photo ep1 p7_zps0lwrydoy.png

 photo ep1 p8_zpshyxkwuj4.png

 photo ep1 p9_zpsvq9wbcz1.png

 photo ep1 p10_zps0he62zsu.png

If you haven’t read the prologue, please read the whole story thus far here.

Hey. It’s here. It’s chapter 1 of our new comic! I am happy.
This comic has been a very new experience for me, on multiple levels. While I did work together with Jim on Klamert’s Village, working with Jim is still new to me. This time, I have to defer much more to his tastes. Obviously, the art is very different than what I’ve done before. Trying to draw characters in a more realistic and serious style has been hard, but I’ve also learned and improved a lot already. I know it might be a stretch to call it “realistic and serious,” but when you compare it to the absurd cartoonishness of my previous stuff, it’s quite the contrast. I’m sure you’re noticing the now much more readable text. That’s because we recently added a new team member. Not only did she do all of the lettering, but she also colored our cover illustration. We’re very happy to have her help. Now, I’ll hand it off to her to write some stuff . . .

-Dean
\[^^]/

     I have to write stuff? Fiiiiiiiiiiineeeeeeeee.
     Well, this week has been interesting. Decoding Dean and Jim’s spectacularly messy handwriting is hard. Coloring is fun though. For some reason, Jim is very talented in the art of distracting the three of us. Overall, this chapter has been a pretty fun experience.
     RIP Box Man 😭
     -Emma (The Letterer/Colorer Person who is apparently unable to spell)
Hello and good day, or something like that. Emma’s actually pretty nice, even if her note might suggest otherwise. Sadly everything she said about me and my brother is true. However, the guy’s name is officially Box BOY, not Box Man. Although I’m the writer, and this comic is supposed to my vision, this guy’s character design was not at all my idea (He was intended to be a throwaway character). You can thank Dean for creating this weirdo. Writing dialogue is a lot harder than you’d think. It never sounds right the first time you put it down, and always needs to be revised.  Also, even if it looks great on the script, that’s no guarantee it’ll work well on the comics page. Thus, I had to erase a lot of Dean’s word bubbles and re-write them myself. I’ve always hated introduction chapters, and I have trouble making them interesting. Hopefully, the plot will become much more exciting once it progresses further. I have a lot of exciting ideas for upcoming events, so be patient. We’ll get through this together. I hope to get much better at writing over the course of this comic.
– Jim
NOTE: Unfortunately, Chapter 2 will not be released next week, because we’re going on a 1-week hiatus. Look forward to Chapter 2 in 2 weeks.
Leave a Reply

